Starting Point: 0.5

The bell rang signaling the end of 5th period. I gulped. Journalism 1 was next. My heart pounded with fear as I trekked the stairs to room E221. I feared the worst. Journalism horror stories flashed before my eyes. My only hope? To make it out of sixth period alive…

Just kidding.

Actually, I’ve wanted to be a part of the Hatchet ever since Hatchet representatives came intruding into my ninth grade honors English class. The only journalism experience I’ve had so far is writing my new journalism essay about the homeless for Mrs. Jones’ honors English 11 class. I’ve also had a lot of experience with photography and programs like Adobe Photoshop and Microsoft Publisher. I learned how to navigate Adobe Indesign this summer! Nicole Doan gave me a crash course and I feel pretty comfortable with it.

My hopes and fears? My greatest fear is that I won’t be able to work fast enough since I have the tendency to work really slowly. But to be honest, I am not that afraid because I know that I can adjust to whatever stipulations are placed on me. I hope to improve my photojournalism and interviewing skills. I usually photoshop my pictures, so learning to take good unedited pictures will be a challenge. I also hope to enjoy myself while being a really productive member of the hatchet team.

Leave a Reply

